Pancakes

I love pancakes. I always have. In fact I love everything about breakfast, from the pancakes to the bacon to the coffee.  Everything. The issue I have when I make pancakes though, is turning them over. For the life of me I can’t figure out how to flip a pancake without turning creating a semi-circular, semi-burnt circle of cake. I have been making pancakes for a while now and I still haven’t found a solution.

They always start off well…

But they always turn out something like this…

Despite using a very happy spatula…

Anyway at least they always still taste good!  And in my opinion a semi-irregular, semi-burnt pancake is better than no pancakes at all! Pancakes have always held a special place in my childhood.  My dad was a master pancake maker, who would usually make us pancakes on Sundays before church.  It was always a great surprise to wake up in the morning to the smell of melting butter and maple syrup.  It was always going to be a good day if it started with pancakes.

My other prominent pancake memory is from our trips to the “Secret Fort.” This was a the name given to the local McDonalds that we would frequent when my mom was out-of-town on business.  I remember going to the secret fort, getting a hotcakes and sausage meal and then spending an hour or so plotting my takeover of the ball pit in the play area.  It is strange how such a simple trip to the secret fort can make an entire day better.  How a simple pancake with maple syrup and an adventure in the play area can be so much fun and so memorable that some 15 years later it is still ingrained in my memory. I am not sure why this is, but I can only hope that such a simple experience will capture Olive’s imagination as much as it did mine. I don’t think there is some sort of special magic in McDonalds’ hotcakes, but I do think that my dad created a special world for my sisters and me.  I think he helped foster us using our imagination by using his. By turning our neighborhood McDonalds into the Secret Fort he created an atmosphere for our imaginations to grow.  My dad wasn’t afraid to help us turn that McDonalds into the Secret Fort.  No doubt he got some curious stares and judgmental looks as he brought us into the McDonalds calling it the Secret Fort, but that is the mark of a great parent. You forego any claim on your own dignity in an attempt to create a fun environment for you kids to succeed.

Seriously, look around the next time you are out and about in the store or the mall.  The kids that are having the most fun are the ones that are dressed up like princesses or super heroes.  The ones whose parents are actually paying attention to them, interacting with them, dare I say playing with them.  I remember a perfect example of this that I witnessed back when Kaleigh and I were throwing around the idea of having a child. I was in the restroom and in walks this dad and his son.  And immediately you can hear the dad telling his son, “You can do this!  You are awesome! Are you ready to rock!” Not sure what exactly is going on I glance over and can tell that the boy is potty training and his dad is solely focused on encouraging his son to do well! Again he chants, “You got this, you rock!”  I leave the restroom with a huge smile on my face knowing that even if this boy doesn’t master potty training today, he will eventually, and his dad will be the reason why.

I can only hope that Olive will feel this support from Kaleigh and me.  I can only hope that she loves pancakes as much as me.  And I can only hope that our secret fort will be as awesome as mine!

Until next time…

2 responses »

  1. your pancakes look lovely but perhaps if you turned the heat down a little and used a little less butter to grease the pan, they would not burn. Butter burns at a lower temperature than the batter itself, so if the pan is allowed to get too hot, it will start burning and leave your pancakes a little blackened. Just a thought and your dad sounds like a very cool guy, more people need Secret Forts in this world! have a nice weekend

Leave a Reply

