I AM a good dad

Ok first of all I apologize for going MIA for the past few weeks.  I can’t say that I have been extra busy, more so I have just been lazy.  It turns out having a baby is tiring.  Earth shattering I know, but seriously now that I am back at work, when I get home I just want to relax with the girls and do pretty much nothing. Plus I have started reading a new fantasy series you may have heard of, Game of Thrones, and it has been fun to lose myself in the land of Kings, Lords, Knights and some strange beasts known as The Others…but I digress.  I just want to commit to at least two posts a week.  I have a great source of material (Olive) so it shouldn’t be a problem. And honestly I know there are a few people who read this blog but the writing is also very therapeutic for me, I get to write my thoughts down and vent on various things and if others enjoy it, good.  But if they don’t I would still write.  Anyway on the title of this post…

I AM a good dad.  Or maybe it should be Am I a good dad? I’ve found that being a new parent I am continually comparing myself and Olive to other parents and young kids. This happens everywhere we go.  In fact I first noticed this when Kaleigh and I took Olive to church a few weeks ago for the first time since she was born.  We sat in the cry room as a preventative measure and inside this room it was like a different world.  There were babies everywhere, and parents too, plenty of subjects to analyze and criticize.  Obviously Olive is the best child in the world, I didn’t have to see other kids in action to know that Olive was the greatest of them all.  I mean if you take one look at her you know that she couldn’t ever do anything wrong. But this cry room  provided a secluded area in which to directly compare her against other kids. I was proud to see that Olive slept through the whole service.  She didn’t make a peep. She was peaceful and happy and sleeping. This could not be said for the majority of the other babies in the room.  Almost every one else had some sort of outburst during the service that required parental attention.  To me this obviously meant that Kaleigh and I were amazing parents and that Olive’s behavior reflected that. We didn’t have to do anything but listen to the service and admire what good work we had done with Olive. Never mind the fact that we really hadn’t done anything special with Olive and in fact we had/have no idea what we are doing with her still to this day.  She just likes to sleep, especially after being in the car.  But I will gladly take credit for my child’s mild temperament and affinity for sleep in moving vehicles. Anyway back to the cry room, as we left church that day I got my first dose of parental pride. I was proud of my little girl.  She stuck it to everyone else in the room, I thought I saw jealous stares as I proudly picked up my still sleeping daughter and walked her out of the room.  As we were walking back to the car I began to daydream of the future of Olive winning the Spelling Bee, of being the youngest girl to win Olympic Gold, of her graciously destroying all challengers in anything she did. My chest swelled even more as my fatherly pride grew exponentially.

I wonder if all parents feel this way.  I am not sure that they couldn’t.  I am sure that in that cry room other parents were checking out the other kids and thinking, my son/daughter is showing them up! I am sure that some of those parents were looking at Olive thinking, “That poor kid has no personality, she is so quiet…!” or something similar…I think that all parents think their kid(s) are the greatest, as they should.  But obviously they are wrong…:)

Leave a Reply

